Sunshine Coast Council begins new four year term

Sunshine Coast Council begins new four year term

Sunshine Coast Council has officially started its new four-year term with councillors making their declaration of office at the Caloundra chamber and the election of Cr Tim Dwyer as Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Mark Jamieson said the March 19 local government election was an strong endorsement of the work of council over the previous four years. John Connolly is the only new councillor in this term, representing Division Four, replacing former Deputy Mayor Cr Chris Thompson who did not seek re-election.

The returning councillors are Mayor Jamieson, Cr Rick Baberowski (Division 1), Cr Tim Dwyer (Division 2), Cr Peter Cox (Division 3), Cr Jenny McKay (Division 5), Cr Christian Dickson (Division 6), Cr Ted Hungerford (Division 7), Cr Jason O’Pray (Division 8), Cr Stephen Robinson (Division 9) and Cr Greg Rogerson (Division 10).

“I am humbled by the strong level of confidence that our residents have shown in myself and each of the elected councillors,” Mayor Jamieson said.

“It is clear to me that our community wants to have confidence in our region’s future. A future that offers opportunities to pursue a career, to access services, to make our communities thrive and to preserve our outstanding natural environment.

“Our community has placed great faith in us. It is incumbent on each of us in turn to live up to their expectations and pursue these goals on their behalf.

“Our responsibilities as Mayor and Councillors are something that we never take for granted.

“As Mayor, it is my objective that our Council not only do well but also do good and it is my expectation that we strive to do this every day.”

Related posts